• Home
  • Lots of Winners at Water Charrette

Lots of Winners at Water Charrette

Thursday, February 13, 2014

More than 100 students participated in the Water Charrette held January 22-25, and four teams were given awards. The chairs of the departments, Paola Sanguinetti of Architecture, Andrea Herstowski, of Design, and Stacey White, of Urban Planning, were extremely impressed by the work done by the groups, but equally enthusiastic about other outcomes, such as cross-collaboration.

Beside getting students to think about design and planning issues related to water use and conservation, one of the key objectives of the charrette was to create an event that allowed all students from all three departments to work in a cross-disciplinary situation that they might not ordinarily experience here. 

“This is very much where the professions are going to be like and we want that to be part of the culture of our school,” said Sanguinetti. “We felt it was very successful from the collaboration perspective and learning from each other. We were pleased with the number of students who participated and the mix from the departments.”

“I think what impressed me the most,” said White, “was they came up with things that I never would have considered. One of them used dew collection as a source of water, for example.”

“And they called it ‘Daisy Dew,’ because it was on Daisy Hill!” said Herstowski. “It was unexpected. We all thought that the water theme was important, that it was something all of the students could address.”

The chairs were also impressed that students worked through two days and one night even though there were no grades at stake. “I see that commitment in our students every day,” said Sanguinetti. “They are much more aware than previous generations of students. They want to contribute, and they want to be involved.”

Asked if more charrettes lie in the future, she said, “This is only the beginning!”

The winners of the Water Charrette awards are:

Most Sustainable Award
Leigha Sledge
Khanh Le
Nick Stinebrook
Andrew Forney
Alex Dakas

Most Innovative Award
Luciana Dias Capistrano
Melanie D’Souza
Luke Feng
Megan Moss
Megan Burns
Myat Aung

Most Innovative Award - Honorable Mention
Jordan Chamberlain
Katie Smith
Kayleen Linstrom
John Coughlin

People’s Choice
Andrew Jablonski
Chris Crawford
Kyle Killian
Andrew Hinderliter
TJ Moon
Willie Johnson



KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times